Your browser does not support our new site design, so some things might not display or function properly.
We suggest upgrading to Google Chrome, Firefox, or Internet Explorer 9+ for the optimal experience.

RARB Picks of 2019

Welcome to RARB Picks of the Year, 2019 Edition!

Reviewers who published at least seven reviews in 2019 were asked to select one Pick of the Year and one Honorable Mention from albums that they personally reviewed for RARB. Reviewers with fewer published reviews could choose only a Pick of the Year. (Albums chosen in both categories are listed as Picks only; the full listing may be found under individual reviewers.) Reviewers could submit descriptions of their picks, but were not required to.

Reviewers were also asked to select Tracks of the Year on a similar principle, again restricted to the tracks that they personally reviewed for RARB. Reviewers could also abstain from making selections in any or all categories.

Finally, our singles reviewers and editorial staff jointly chose one Single of the Year and one Honorable Mention.

Albums of the Year

Honorable Mentions

Tracks of the Year

Singles of the Year

Voices in Your Head (University of Chicago) – Sing for Myself

"You never know when happiness will find its way to you with utter simplicity," remarked TeKay, who had the pleasure of reviewing Sing for Myself when it gracefully landed at RARB last winter. Though often extreme in volume and complex in production, Voices in Your Head went a purposefully different way with this moving composition. An original penned by Will Cabaniss and Ire Olagbami, the opening lyrics are so captivating ("Out of the fallen trees we sing…") that you’re sure to lean in for the rest of this story. With some RARB reviewers declaring it’s their favorite single ever, Sing for Myself was an easy selection for our 2019 Single of the Year.

Honorable Mention

Nomadic – Top of the World

After marveling at every aspect of Nomadic’s high octane single, reviewer Kyle Yampiro concluded, "Top of the World should be at the top of any a cappella listener's wish list." This keenly designed cover is packed with dazzling details in every measure, driven by arranger Matt Goldstein’s genre-bending fusion flavorings and lead Archie Gopal’s cool vocals that are beyond imitation. Yampiro also praised the production team (Angela and Dave Longo, Dave Sperandio) for adding sophisticated power to the final output. This is a supergroup your speakers should know.

Rebecca Christie

Jonathan Minkoff

Elie Landau


Kimberly Raschka Sailor

John Colton

Catherine Lewis

Malcolm Piper

Brian Alexander

Kyle Yampiro

Andrew Adams

Stephen Lanza

Dom Otto Asís

Louis Jack Ades


How To Get Your Work Reviewed

To have your album (2 or more tracks) reviewed by RARB, please fill out our online album registration form.

To have your digital single reviewed by RARB, please fill out our online singles registration form.

Feel free to email us if you have any questions.